Home

You are not logged in.
Language: French

Announcement

IMPORTANT: Someone decided to hack the UJ server and delete all the files on it including the backups. So now we are trying to rebuild from what we have. This may take a few days so bear with us

#1 2010-10-29 08:47:16

jmarc
webMaster/noobJumper

DMC Jumps2

Map maker: Detroit Metal City

Release Date: 2010-10-28

Number of jumps: 6

Datasheet

Offline

  • Top

#2 2010-10-29 11:39:42

puska
Member

Re: DMC Jumps2

Like . smile nice map but a lot of  did lemming place smile

Offline

  • Top

#3 2010-10-29 11:53:28

Driller
Moderator

Re: DMC Jumps2

Number 2 already? xD  Speedjumpmapper!

Offline

  • Top

#4 2010-10-29 13:16:18

FXG
Map maker

Re: DMC Jumps2

nice map, but... no combos.. sad

real nice feeling playing it, but its a bit short in my opinion.. :S

anyway congrats smile

Offline

  • Top

#5 2010-10-29 15:30:53

xandaxs
Gone Walkabout

Re: DMC Jumps2

gonna try it now ^-^

Offline

  • Top

#6 2010-10-30 18:29:53

zimzalabing
Jumper

Re: DMC Jumps2

found your tattooed oriental girls smile

Offline

  • Top

#7 2010-10-31 13:13:25

X-RaY
Moderator

Re: DMC Jumps2

lol, map is completely redone smile
nothing is the same.


“Don’t judge everyone else by your limited experience.” - Carl Sagan

Offline

  • Top

#8 2010-10-31 14:15:49

kaviar
-@dm

Re: DMC Jumps2

X-RaY wrote:

lol, map is completely redone smile
nothing is the same.

Because it's not the same map wink

Offline

  • Top

#9 2010-10-31 14:32:14

X-RaY
Moderator

Re: DMC Jumps2

ah, like pirrijumps and pirrijumps 2 smile


“Don’t judge everyone else by your limited experience.” - Carl Sagan

Offline

  • Top

#10 2010-11-03 01:22:13

Moonie
Moderator

Re: DMC Jumps2

I find it unplayable after jump 1 due to mega texture loss (due to using laziness while making certain shaders).


Will replace with something useful, someday. smile

Offline

  • Top

#11 2010-11-03 01:54:25

Anomaly
Jumper

Re: DMC Jumps2

i like the odd and new jumps smile

pretty sweet map


6th|Anomaly!

Offline

  • Top

#12 2010-11-03 08:48:07

X-RaY
Moderator

Re: DMC Jumps2

lol, on my old computer.... about 20 fps smile
but it is quite a strange map indeed.


“Don’t judge everyone else by your limited experience.” - Carl Sagan

Offline

  • Top

#13 2010-11-03 13:38:51

FXG
Map maker

Re: DMC Jumps2

i think the map is pretty good, and i dont have no fps drops.. i play allways with 125fps..

strange smile

anyway it is a litle nice map wink

Offline

  • Top

#14 2010-11-03 14:50:23

xandaxs
Gone Walkabout

Re: DMC Jumps2

no problem with me either...

Offline

  • Top

#15 2010-11-03 15:11:09

Moonie
Moderator

Re: DMC Jumps2

I wasnt going to post why, but i will.  Maybe dmc will look at this topic.

OK heres an example of his grass shader.

Code:

textures/dmcjumps2/Grass0126_2_S
{
    qer_editorimage textures/dmcjumps2/Grass0126_2_S
    q3map_nonplanar
    q3map_shadeangle 180
    surfaceparm nodamage
    {
        map textures/dmcjumps2/Cliffs0007_2_S
        rgbGen identity
    }

    {
        map textures/dmcjumps2/Grass0126_2_S
        blendFunc blend
        alphaFunc gt0
        rgbGen identity
        alphaGen vertex
    }

    {
        map $lightmap
        blendFunc filter
        rgbGen identity
    }

}

Notice how the textures are missing the .tga suffix.  Well thats what causes it.  Whoever told people to do this i could kill them, its a sloppy way of making shaders that breaks compatibility with older clients.

Daedalus did this on Skyjumps and that is another map i have texture loss on, but when i recompiled it (with his permission) after fixing the shaders i had all the textures working.

This is how the shader should be.

Code:

textures/dmcjumps2/Grass0126_2_S
{
    qer_editorimage textures/dmcjumps2/Grass0126_2_S.tga
    q3map_nonplanar
    q3map_shadeangle 180
    surfaceparm nodamage
    {
        map textures/dmcjumps2/Cliffs0007_2_S.tga
        rgbGen identity
    }

    {
        map textures/dmcjumps2/Grass0126_2_S.tga
        blendFunc blend
        alphaFunc gt0
        rgbGen identity
        alphaGen vertex
    }

    {
        map $lightmap
        blendFunc filter
        rgbGen identity
    }
}

If it was like that id be able to see the grass.

So to anyone who reads this and maps, try not to use laziness like this when making shaders


Will replace with something useful, someday. smile

Offline

  • Top

#16 2010-11-03 17:55:11

FXG
Map maker

Re: DMC Jumps2

moonie you have to put suffix in all shaders? i mean .tga .jpg , etc...?

i think i dont do that.. tongue hehehe

well its allways good to know smile tks

Offline

  • Top

#17 2010-11-03 18:20:35

Moonie
Moderator

Re: DMC Jumps2

FXG wrote:

moonie you have to put suffix in all shaders? i mean .tga .jpg , etc...?

i think i dont do that.. tongue hehehe

well its allways good to know smile tks

That would explain why i cant see a load of your textures in underground jumps.

Also its not necessary to put .jpg as a suffix.  The game engine automatically looks for a tga first then a jpg regardless of the suffix.  Which confused the hell out of me when Null explained it to me when i first started mapping.  But it does make a difference.

Apparently someone somewhere made some sloppy programming choices in the engine or mod, so that this sort of thing can happen, and now a few of us i guess live with that mistake.  It just means certain maps i disregard due to texture loss.


Will replace with something useful, someday. smile

Offline

  • Top

#18 2010-11-21 00:42:57

Noxtty
Map maker

Re: DMC Jumps2

here we go, I posted the HoF of DMC 2, no fails.. hopefully ill get the 3, just a question: There is a training room in DMC 3, do I need to do it? or just go to the end

Offline

  • Top

#19 2010-11-21 07:43:26

X-RaY
Moderator

Re: DMC Jumps2

Just go to the end of the real map smile


“Don’t judge everyone else by your limited experience.” - Carl Sagan

Offline

  • Top

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB - Adaptation: jmarc
Design: landouille - Icons: famfamfam